Support Us
Share with

Company History

Founded in 1970 by Ken Gass and Frank Trotz, Factory Theatre was the first company in the history of this country to produce only Canadian plays. Its huge initial success led to the founding of the Alternate Theatre Movement which radically changed the face of Canadian theatre in favour of the Canadian voice. For more than 40 years, Factory has been known as the “Home of the Canadian Playwright” and has produced more than 300 new Canadian plays in mainstage productions and 600 more in workshop and other formats.


Throughout the 1970s, Factory operated out of a number of different venues across Toronto. In 1979, founding artistic director Ken Gass left the company and Bob White assumed the artistic leadership (1979-87). In 1984, Factory moved into its present location at 125 Bathurst Street. Under the Artistic Direction of Jackie Maxwell (1987-1995), the company continued its commitment to new Canadian work and developed a strong presence in translating the work of Quebecois authors for English-speaking audiences.   Ken Gass (1996-2012) returned to Factory at a time of great financial duress. With the commitment of all of its talented staff led by its Artistic and Managing Directors, the subsequent period was one of  operational stabilization  and the presentation of dynamic seasons that began to increasingly focus on the work of culturally diverse artists and diverse theatrical voices.


Factory purchased its heritage facility in March 1999. Now in its 5th decade, the Factory is now lead Artistic Director Nina Lee Aquino.

Factory Theatre

125 Bathurst Street
Toronto, Ontario M5V 2R2

Admin 416 504 4473
Box Office 416 504 9971

© Factory Theatre

Charitable Registration Number 12353 3812 RR0001